Please wait while loading your Bulletin

The official Official ActsWOAH honorary awards

Official Acts Posted on 2022-10-17 15:06:05

WOAH honorary awards

Font size - A A A +

In accordance with the Basic Texts of the World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH), honorary awards can be made to members of the veterinary community for outstanding services to veterinary science and to the Organisation.
  • The Gold Medal is granted to one person annually in recognition of their outstanding service in the field of veterinary science and their contribution to the scientific and technological development of the Organisation’s activities.
  • The Meritorious Service Award is granted annually to a maximum of three personalities in recognition of their scientific, technical and administrative contribution to the control of animal disease, animal welfare and/or to veterinary public health.

The World Organisation for Animal Health recognises the winners of the veterinary achievement awards in 2020. Due to the pandemic, the award ceremonies have been postponed and will resume once the annual General Sessions are held again in person. Until then, the Organisation’s President Dr Hugo Federico Idoyaga Benitez and Director General Dr Monique Éloit would like to officially acknowledge the achievement of the four award recipients and commend the leading role they have played in animal and public health, which has enabled us to work towards a healthier and more sustainable world. The persons selected by the WOAH Council to receive the awards are the following:

  • Dr Gideon Brückner (South Africa) for the Gold Medal
  • Prof. Dr Grace Chu-Fang Lo (Chinese Taipei) for the Meritorious Service Award
  • Dr Jean-Luc Angot (France) for the Meritorious Service Award
  • Dr Muhammad Afzal (Pakistan) for the Meritorious Service Award

Related informations to article